21 Educators To Be Honored At Dean's Roundtable

Written by: Ashley Green (cehdcomm@tamu.edu)
Post date: May 04, 2016

The College of Education and Human Development (CEHD) at Texas A&M University will honor 21 educators who have made a positive impact on the lives of their students at the 2016 Dean’s Roundtable to be held on Friday, May 6th at the Annenberg Presidential Conference Center.

Dr. June Scobee Rodgers, Texas A&M University class of 1983 and the widow of Challenger Space Shuttle Commander Richard “Dick” Scobee, will be the keynote speaker for the evening.

Established by Dr. Jane Stallings in 1991, the Dean’s Roundtable has recognized more than 550 educators who are role models to their students and peers, mentors for new education professionals, and servant leaders in their communities.  In the process, they have raised over $450,000 in support of scholarships, programs and college initiatives.  

“By identifying dedicated educators to be honored at the Dean’s Roundtable, sponsors help recognize the important role that educators play in shaping the futures of their students,” stated CEHD Dean Joyce M. Alexander.  “This year, as always, our benefactors have chosen to honor a distinguished group of professionals who share our vision of transforming lives through education.”

The 2016 Dean’s Roundtable honorees include superintendents, classroom teachers, distinguished professors and other educators who embody the mission of life-long learning and excellence in education. They include: 

Revathi Balakrishnan, 2016 Texas Teacher of the Year, Sommer Elementary in Round Rock ISD, Round Rock, Texas
Rachel R. Beachy, South Knoll Elementary School, College Station, Texas
Mary Frances Beal, Bryan Adult Learning Center, Bryan, Texas
Kathy Bruck, CEO of Pre-K 4 SA initiative, San Antonio, Texas
Christine Grafe, 2015 Outstanding Middle School Art Educator for the Texas Art Education Association, Cypress Grove Intermediate School, College Station, Texas
Reginald Jones, U. S. Army (retired), JROTC, Holmes Middle School, Dallas
Yolanda Jones, Lake Ridge High School, Mansfield, Texas
Rachelle Killian, Edgar Allan Poe Middle School, San Antonio, Texas
Cherald Ellis Kocurek, Retired Teacher, Author, San Antonio, Texas
Dr. Yvonna S. Lincoln, Educational Administration and Human Resource Development, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas
Janet Glynn (Bellomy) McArthur*, Retired Teacher, Texas
Dr. John D. Ogletree, Jr., Board of Trustees, Cypress-Fairbanks ISD, Texas
Diane L. Oswald, College of Nursing, Texas A&M Health Science Center, College Station, Texas
Dr. Carlos H. Rios, Superintendent, San Felipe Del Rio CISD, Del Rio Texas
Dr. June Scobee Rodgers, Founding Chair of the Challenger Center for Space Science Education, Chattanooga, Tennessee
Dr. Linda Rodriguez, Assistant Superintendent, Aldine ISD, Houston, Texas
Dr. Susan Wagner*, Health and Kinesiology, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas
Dr. Thomas A. Wallis, 2016 Texas Computer Education Association Superintendent of the Year, Superintendent, Bryan ISD, Bryan, Texas
Dr. Victor L. Willson, Educational Psychology, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas
Dr. Robert "Jay" Woodward, Educational Psychology, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas
Angela Wrigglesworth, Blackshear Elementary School, Klein, Texas

*Awarded Posthumously

The College of Education and Human Development is committed to enhancing education and health outcomes for all. By partnering with the college, members of the Dean’s Roundtable make an investment in the future of education across Texas and the nation. For more information, contact Erin Kleinecke at ekleinecke@tamu.edu or 979-845-5355. 

About the College of Education and Human Development

The College of Education and Human Development (CEHD) at Texas A&M University is the fourth-largest college at Texas A&M with over 7,000 undergraduate and graduate students studying across four academic departments (Educational Administration and Human Resource Development, Educational Psychology, Health and Kinesiology, and Teaching, Learning and Culture). CEHD is ranked first in the state among 4-year public higher education institutions in certifying teachers in high need fields such as math and science, and is in the top five for bilingual and special education. More than 10,000 Aggie teachers work in 756 Texas school districts, in all 20 regions and 211 counties as teachers, school counselors, principals and senior administrators.