EAHR Spring Faculty Updates

Written by: CEHD Communications Staff
Post date: January 17, 2012

Dr. Kurup joins the department – The department welcomes Dr. Priya Darshini Kurup as the Clinical Assistant Professor of HRD and Technology Management. Dr. Kurup earned her Ph.D. in Educational Human Resource Development in December 2011 with a research focus on work design and corporate social responsibility. We are excited to have her join our undergraduate faculty!
K-12 Faculty Receive HASS ERC Grant – Please join me in congratulating our colleagues from K-12 Public School Administration for their award of the HASS ERC grant, which is funded by the Office of the Vice President for Research at Texas A&M University: Drs. Terah Venzant-Chambers, Roger D. Goddard, Robert J. Miller, Jim Scheurich, Mario S. Torres, Jr., (Co-PIs) and Gwendolyn Webb-Hasan (PI). Their study is entitled: "Development of a Culturally Responsive Leadership Model: Countering the 'Receivement Gap' Among African American and Latina/o American Students." The $50,000 grant is a seed grant that will enable the research team to develop and complete a grant application to the Institute of Educational Sciences (IES) that will be submitted in September 2012.

Dr. Venzant-Chambers Recognized – Please join me in congratulating Dr. Terah Venzant‐Chambers for being named one of the College of Education and Human Development’s recipients of the 2012 Program for the Enhancement of Scholarly and Creative Activities. This program provides funding awards for significant research projects, scholarly publications and artistic presentations.

Dr. Byrd Recognized – Dr. David Byrd, graduate of the Higher Education Administration doctoral program at Texas A&M University, received honorable mention of the 2011 Barbara K. Townsend Dissertation of the Year Award. This award is established by The National Institute for the Study of Transfer Students and encourages the development and dissemination of knowledge that informs the academic community on transfer.