Faculty, Staff Honored for CEHD Impact

Written by: Kate Hinnant (cehdcomm@tamu.edu)
Post date: September 01, 2017

Hundreds of faculty and staff attended the CEHD Fall 2017 Kick-Off Luncheon on August 23. The annual kick-off was held in the Bethancourt Ballroom and helped to set the pace for the upcoming academic year.

Dr. Joyce Alexander, Dean of the College of Education and Human Development, presented a progress update to the college highlighting its accomplishments and future goals.

Following the presentation, college awards were awarded to recipients honoring their research, leadership, and service.

Three faculty and staff members received awards from the Dean's Development Council Awards. Dr. Steven Woltering, assistant professor in Educational Psychology, received the Outstanding New Faculty Award. Dr. Trina Davis, associate professor in Teaching, Learning & Culture, received the Extraordinary Service Award. Joyce Nelson, director of academic advising in Educational Administration and Human Resources Development received the Outstanding Staff Award.

Other award recipients included:

Association of Former Students College-Level Teaching Awards
Dr. Glenda Byrns
Dr. Timothy Lightfoot

Early Career Research Excellence
Dr. Adam Barry 
Dr. Lei-Shih Chen

Outstanding Faculty Mentor
Dr. Cheryl Craig

Senior Scholar Research Excellence
Dr. R. Malatesha Joshi

Faculty Climate Award
Dr. Rhonda Fowler

Staff Climate Award
Dell Billings

John Trott, Jr. Award in Student Recruiting 
Laura Wilding

Carolyn Lohman Advocacy Leadership Award
Dr. Joel Berrien, Jr.

Faculty Award
Dr. Valerie Hill-Jackson