Faculty, Students Receive Awards at Human Resource Development Conference

Written by: CEHD Communications Staff
Post date: March 12, 2010

Texas A&M University was well represented by faculty and graduate students from the Department of Educational Administration and Human Resource Development (EAHR) at the 2010 Academy of Human Resource Development (AHRD) International Conference Feb. 24-28, in Knoxville, Tenn.

EAHR faculty and graduate students garnered a number of awards at the conference. Olya Verkhohlyad, a former doctoral student now at the Ukrainian-American Liberal Arts Institute, Wisconsin International University (USA) Ukraine, received the Malcolm S. Knowles Dissertation of the Year Award. The award is given to commend an outstanding dissertation that exemplifies scholarly work and contributes to the human resource development field. Toby Marshall Egan and Anthony Rolle, both associate professors, chaired her dissertation. It examined human capital indices from educational policy and human resource development perspectives. Associate Professor Jamie Callahan and Visiting Assistant Professor Polly Silva were honored with a Top Ten Cutting Edge Award for their paper "The Epistemology of Incidental Learning."

The Cutting Edge Awards are given to the author(s) of up to 10 outstanding scholarly papers from those published in the annual conference proceedings for the prior year. Senior Professor Gary McLean and Egan contributed one article titled "Applying Organization Development Tools in Scenario Planning," which was recognized as this year's Advances in Developing Human Resources Best Journal Issue. Fredrick M. Nafukho, professor and EAHR department head, received an award for serving as a member of the AHRD Board of Directors from 2007 to 2009. Setting a record number of conference participants from Texas A&M, nine faculty members and 21 students made 58 presentations at the conference. Seventeen graduate students participated in the emerging research class, which was led by Assistant Professor Jia Wang.