McTigue Named 2010-2011 Montague-CTE Scholar

Written by: CEHD Communications Staff
Post date: September 07, 2010

The Center for Teaching Excellence at Texas A&M University has selected Erin McTigue, a faculty member from the College of Education and Human Development, as a 2010-2011 Montague-CTE Scholar.

McTigue is an assistant professor of reading education in the Department of Teaching, Learning and Culture. Named for founding donor Kenneth Montague '37, the Montague-CTE Scholar Program awards early career excellence in undergraduate teaching at Texas A&M.

The purpose of the program is to recognize one tenure-track assistant professor in each college who has demonstrated a commitment to, and potential for, excellence. Each Montague-CTE Scholar receives a $6,500 grant to encourage further development in his or her undergraduate teaching excellence. Scholars will be honored at a luncheon on Nov. 10 in Koldus 110/111.