Roundtable Honors 20 Educators for Commitment to Education

Written by: CEHD Communications Staff
Post date: April 30, 2007

The College of Education and Human Development at Texas A&M University honored 20 educators for their commitment to education at the 16th Annual Dean's Roundtable, April 27, 2007 at Pebble Creek Country Club in College Station, Texas.

This year's keynote speaker was Stephen Carpenter, II, associate professor in the Department of Teaching, Learning and Culture. Carpenter is an innovative professor inspiring his students to learn and express themselves through visual art. His presentation was titled "Open Houses and Televised Education: (RE) Imagining What, Where and How We Learn."

Those honored included Nancy Algert, Darrell Beck, Alice Brimberry, Nancy Clark, Jon Denton, Jan Fechhelm, Sandy Felderhoff, Rebecca W. Gates, Diane Hutzler, Suzanne Kennedy, Jennifer Morton, Sandra Nite, Floydie Pittman, Mell Pruitt, Willie Pruitt, Tammy Raulerson, Sondra Walker, Joey Washington, Karan Watson and Valleau Wilkie, Jr. The event also honored senior health and kinesiology major Johanna Ryza with the Jane Stallings Student Service Award.

The event recognizes educators, including teachers, school secretaries, administrators and college professors, who show devotion to their students and enthusiasm for the field of education. Recognized educators have taken the time to shape a student and send him or her out into the world with confidence.

The first Dean's Roundtable was held in 1991 and honored 22 educators, and the college has honored over 250 educators since the first event.