Streight Named to MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

Meghan Streight playing soccer

Written by: CEHD Communications Staff
Post date: August 21, 2013

Meghan Streight, a junior allied health major, was selected to the Missouri Athletic Club's (MAC) Hermann Trophy Watch List, the organization announced.

The McKinney, Texas, native was one of 31 female student-athletes chosen to be in the running for the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer. The award is presented annually in St. Louis.

In 2012, Streight was selected to the National Soccer Coaches Association of America/Continental Tire NCAA Division I Women's Soccer All-America Third Team.
Streight was one of four Aggies to start all 25 games last season. She tallied 12 points on the year, including three goals. One of A&M's key servers on set pieces, Streight tallied six assists on the season. She earned All-SEC First Team distinction as well as being named to the SEC Soccer All-Tournament Team.

The McKinney Boyd product became the 12th player in Aggie history to land on an NSCAA All-America squad and it marked the 14th time an A&M player was honored as an NSCAA All-American. The Aggies have had players named to the NSCAA All-America team and the former Soccer Buzz All-America squad on 26 occasions.

As a freshman, Streight made an immediate impact in her rookie campaign. She was named All-Big 12 Second Team, Big 12 All-Newcomer and Big 12 Championship All-Tournament along with being named to the NSCAA All-Central Region Third Team. She logged nine points on four goals and one assist as a freshman.

The Aggies posted an historic season in 2012, finishing with a 19-5-1 overall record and winning the SEC Western Division title with a 10-2-1 league ledger. A&M's 19 wins was one shy of the school record and the Aggies posted a school-record 15 shutouts on the year.

Streight was one of three Southeastern Conference (SEC) women's soccer players on the list. She was joined by Kentucky’s Arin Gilliland and Tennessee’s Hannah Wilkinson.
Honorees for the MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List are picked by National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) coaches, and will be narrowed to a group of 15 semifinalists in late November. Three finalists will be announced December and invited to a banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on Jan. 10, where the winner will be announced via news conference.

The Maroon and White start the 2013 campaign on Friday when they host the No.7 Duke Blue Devils at Ellis Field.