TLAC Doctoral Students and Faculty Present Papers

Written by: CEHD Communications Staff
Post date: October 09, 2013

Organization of Educational Historians

Five doctoral students and four faculty from TLAC attended the recent annual meeting of the Organization of Educational Historians, held in Chicago, IL, October 4 and 5, 2013.

Presenting papers were:

A symposium presentation entitled, In Their Halls: Schools Remember Their History

Mychelle Smith (TLAC doctoral student) "The Museum for East Texas Culture"

Xinyuan Yang (TLAC doctoral student) "Jack K. Williams Administration Building"

Sunni L. Sonnenburg (TLAC doctoral student) "Brenham's School Building on Carlee Drive: Alleviating Overcrowding, Allowing for Integration and Serving as a Fallout Shelter"

Matthew Etchells (TLAC doctoral student) "A Historical Review of the Developments in Learning at an International School in the Middle East from 1975 to 2013"

Faculty presentations were:

Lynn M. Burlbaw and Larry J. Kelly, "Education for Safety, Adults and Children Both"

Lynn M. Burlbaw and Chara H. Bohan (GSU faculty), Among the GIs: Going to School with Servicemen Returning from World War II,"

Heather K. Caldwell, "'Follow the Leader': Mrs. William P. Clements, Jr., A Texas Governor's Wife and her Controversial Stance on Education"

Julie Singleton, "The History of the Gregory School and Houston's Freedmen's Town"

East Texas Historical Association

Two TLAC doctoral students and one TLAC faculty member attended the annual meeting of the East Texas Historical Association meeting held in Nacogdoches, Texas on September 26 – 28, 2013.

Presenting were:

Mychelle Smith (doctoral student) “Museum for East Texas Culture: A Memorial to Educational Dreams”

Stephen Scogin, (doctoral student) “A Biography of the Gaston High School Building (1932 – present)”

Lynn M. Burlbaw (faculty) "Seven Thousand Projects to Feed the Hungry: The CWA in Texas, 1933 – 1934"

In addition to having their paper proposals accepted for presentation at the meeting, Smith and Scogin were each the recipient of a ETHA Past Presidents Scholarship and presented their papers in the ETHA Past Presidents Session.